About Us
Research Network
Contact Information

CNFASDP - Terms of Reference (pdf 44KB)

At a meeting of Ministers of Social Services and Health in February 1998, the Prairie Province Fetal Alcohol Syndrome Partnership of Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba was born. Ministers recognized the impact of fetal alcohol spectrum disorder (FASD) on society and determined that a co-ordinated approach was needed to effectively address the growing issue of FASD. The Partnership developed a common strategy that considered both the prevention of FASD and the provision of support to those affected by FASD.

In 1999, Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut joined the partnership and the name changed to the Prairie Northern FAS Partnership to reflect this expansion. In November 2001, British Columbia joined the partnership and the name changed to the Prairie Northern Pacific FAS Partnership. The seven provinces and territories represented on the Prairie Northern Pacific FAS Partnership have been able to learn from each other, as well as share expertise, resource materials, and "best practices".

In 2003, to incorporate more inclusive terminology to describe the spectrum of fetal alcohol related disabilities and to be more internationally recognized, the Partnership's name was changed to the Canada Northwest FASD Partnership.

Our Purpose

© Government of Yukon 2005-2013
Privacy | Copyright
Go to Alberta website
Go to British Columbia website
Go to Manitoba website
Go to Northwest Territories website
Go to Nunavut website
Go to Saskatchewan website
Go to Yukon website